Free yourself from the fear of failing 

I read somewhere “When you have an idea you must act on it.” and it has stayed on my mind since then. I don’t think human beings fail to follow their inspiration because of laziness, I think it’s fear. As negative and boring being lazy sounds we still admit to it all the time. We don’t admit to our fear of failing very often. And I think it should be talked about. 

The fear of failing is stronger than most fears, at least for me. It’s constantly nagging inside your head because daily you face challenges and you have to make decisions. Fear can be an in-avoidable feeling you have to carry with you every day. And it’s your job to find out if the fear is the kind that needs to be approached and nurtured or the kind that you need to stay away from. I am talking about fear of writing a book because you’re scared of it not getting published versus fear of something that is truly harmful to you.  

To fail is not to fail. To fail is to learn. We need to wrap our heads around that. It’s because of trial and error and endless hours of practicing or studying the top is at the top. Time, hard work, willingness to fail, loose and make sacrifices plus a little luck is what I think is the recipe to what we consider success. We all want that but not all of us are willing to do what it takes. I hate to break it to you but, there are no shortcuts.  

I am doing something that scares me immensely right now. Something I have never done before. And within the short period of time this project has been going on I have been wanting to quit 18465 times. And I still want to sometimes. To quit would be so much easier than to face this fear everyday. The fear of failing. But there is a fire within me that won’t let me stop, it’s burning stronger than the fear. Is that fire a sign that you are going the right way? 

I am not writing this because I have all the answers, I’m writing cause I have more questions. The more I learn the more I realize that I don’t know anything. That there are no answers, you make up your own. And it is simultaneously terrifying and deliberating. 

When fear knocks on your door, open it. Ask why it’s there instead of turning your back on it. Figure out how and why and if. Embrace the uncomfortable until it’s not uncomfortable anymore. One fear at a time. 

Jag läste någonstans “När du har en idé så måste du agera”. Och den meningen har fastnat i mitt huvud sen dess. Jag tror inte människor misslyckas med att följa sin inspiration för att de är lata, jag tror det är rädsla. Så negativt och tråkigt som att vara lat låter så är det ändå något vi erkänner hela tiden. Vi erkänner inte vår rädsla för att misslyckas speciellt ofta. Och det tror jag vi borde prata om.

Rädslan att misslyckas är starkare än andra rädslor, åtminstone för mig. Det är en konstant känsla för dagligen måste vi ta beslut och agera. Rädsla kan vara en oundviklig känsla som du bär med dig varje dag. Och det är ditt jobb att lista ut om rädslan är av den sort att du borde närma dig och omfamna den eller rädsla för att du borde hålla dig undan. Jag menar rädsla för att misslyckas jämfört med rädsla för att någonting är direkt farligt för dig. 

Att misslyckas är inte att misslyckas, att misslyckas är att lära sig. Vi måste lära oss det. Det är på grund av konstanta försök och misslyckanden och timmar av träning som gör att vissa är på toppen. Tid, hård arbete, mod att misslyckas eller förlora kombinerat med uppoffringar och lite tur är vad jag tror är receptet till framgång. Alla vill nå framgång men alla vill inte göra var som krävs. Jag hatar att säga det men, det finns inga genvägar. 

Jag håller på med ett projekt som verkligen skrämmer mig nu. Någonting som jag aldrig har gjort innan. Och under den korta tiden jag har varit aktiv med projektet har jag velat sluta 18465 gånger. Och ibland vill jag fortfarande sluta. Att ge upp är så mycket lättare än att hantera rädslan varje dag. Rädslan att misslyckas. Men det finns en eld i mig som inte låter mig sluta, den brinner starkare än rädslan. Är den elden en ledtråd att du är på rätt spår?

Jag skriver inte detta för att jag har alla svar, jag skriver för att jag fortfarande har frågor. Ju mer jag lär mig desto mer inser jag att jag inte vet något alls. Att det inte finns några svar, du skapar dina egna. Och det är skrämmande och friande samtidigt. 

När rädsla knackar på din dörr, öppna den. Fråga varför den är där istället för att vända ryggen till. Lista ut hur, varför och om. Omfamna det som skrämmer dig tills det inte skrämmer dig längre. En rädsla i taget. 


Photographer: Meng Johnson

2 thoughts on “Free yourself from the fear of failing 

  1. Very good write up! Fear of failing is something I deal with when it comes to trying to marketing myself as a Professional photographer. This article has definitely inspired me. But in the end, I gotta learn to keep pushing myself out there.

    • Absolutely, I think we all deal with fear of failing when it comes to something we really want. Best of luck to you!

Leave a comment